• Home
  • Find A Historian

There are almost 1,600 local government historians in New York State. The state historian law requires that a local historian is appointed in each city, town, village, or borough, and allows for the appointment of a historian in each county.

APHNYS provides listings for all historians in the Empire State, and has divided the state into twelve regions.  This list is by region, then county, and then municipality.

Local Government Historians By Region/County

as of December 1, 2023.

This is the list of historians, co-historians, assistant historians and deputy historians.

Contact information on this page is updated periodically.

If you find an error or incomplete listing, please send a message to our membership chair at publichistoriansnys@gmail.com

Region 1:

Bronx County

Kings County

New York County

Queens County

Richmond County

Return to Top

Region 2:

Nassau County

Suffolk County

Return to Top

Region 3:

Dutchess County

Orange County

Putnam County

Rockland County

Westchester County

Return to Top

Region 4:

Columbia County

Delaware County

Greene County

Sullivan County

Ulster County

Return to Top

Region 5:

Albany County

Rensselaer County

Saratoga County

Schenectady County

Warren County

Washington County

Return to Top

Region 6a:

Clinton County

Essex County

Hamilton County

Return to Top

Region 6b:


Saint Lawrence

Return to Top

Region 7:

Fulton County

Herkimer County

Montgomery County

Oneida County

Otsego County

Schoharie County

Return to Top

Region 8:

Jefferson County

Lewis County

Oswego County

Return to Top

Region 9:

Cayuga County

Courtland County

Madison County

Onondaga County

Return to Top

Region 10:

Broome County

Chemung County

Chenango County

Schuyler County

Tioga County

Thompkins County

Return to Top

Region 11:

Monroe County

Ontario County

Seneca County

Steuben County

Wayne County

Yates County

Return to Top

Region 12:

Allegany County

Cattaraugus County

Chautauqua County

Erie County

Genesee County

Livingston County

Niagara County

Orleans County

Wyoming County

Return to Top

APHNYS is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software